top of page
  • Writer's pictureCoventry Youth Activists

Becoming invisible on a night out...

Updated: Feb 27, 2020

WHY DO WE BECOME INVISIBLE AS WHEELCHAIR USERS ON A NIGHT OUT?!?!

IS IT REALLY THAT DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND?


Now I’m writing this so that people can learn. I’ve just had a GREAT night out. As me and my friend were leaving, my friend decided to go ahead to help me exit the pub. Just think for a second, how mundane the simple act of leaving a busy place is - I bet it’s never crossed most of our minds.


As we made our way through we passed the bar, my friend shouted politely for people to move aside to let me through. It became clearer and clearer how invisible I’d become.


In fact people were so determined not to move that I got stuck tight against a wall.

Unknown to me someone from behind me started trying to push me and then even shouted at my friend! Not just that, they attempted to push me into my friend’s feet! It took for her to literally shout STOP over the music and pull me out of the way as my hand was so close against this wall to end the situation.


Luckily apart from some tiny marks from friction I’m completely not hurt or injured at all but THIS SHOULD NEVER HAPPEN TO ANYONE AND I WOULD HATE FOR ANYONE TO BE CAUSED AN INJURY BECAUSE OF A SITUATION LIKE THIS.


I was lucky to be accompanied by someone I share a strong relationship with who was looking out for me and I knew that I was completely safe with no matter what.


The people that disrespected us tonight and caused us some upset and disappointment towards the public will wake up tomorrow and never think of how they spoke to us tonight - it will always stay in the back of our minds though.


SO WHAT I’M SAYING IS THIS: Everyone has the right to have a great night out and be respected in the environment they’re in.


DISABLED PEOPLE ARE NOT INVISIBLE. Disabled people also have nights outs with their friends and a few drinks too. Treat us with the respect we give you.


Any one of us or someone we love could end up being disabled at some point in our lives and how would it feel then if you went through it.


IT TAKES NOTHING TO STEP ASIDE TO LET SOMEONE PAST ON A NIGHT OUT. The consequences of not doing so can be so much worse. IS IT REALLY THAT DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND?


I would like to again say that our night has not been ruined because of this and I’m completely unharmed by the experience. Our confidence hasn’t in the slightest been effected. We have as much of a right to a night out as anyone else - there is no stopping us.


And it shouldn't stop you either. #CYAinThePub is about everyone enjoying a night out in Coventry by tackling the barriers, stereotypes and prejudice that many people can face - making sure we have a good time as we do it too!


So if this story resonates with you or you'd like to join us on our next #CYAinThePub night out, then get in touch! We'd love to hear from you!



Picture taken on another #CYAinThePub night out!


296 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page